Teesside University has secured a prestigious national award for its commitment to digitally empower its students and staff.

Teesside has been named 2022 University of the Year at the fourth annual Edufuturists Awards, which celebrate the very best people, schools, colleges and universities who are leading the way as innovative educators.

The Edufuturists University of the Year Award is in recognition of the major impact Teesside University is making on students through its forward thinking, innovative, strategic and engaging practices.

Professor Mark Simpson, Teesside University Pro Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching), said: “We are absolutely delighted to achieve this latest recognition and it is a testament to all of the work which has gone into establishing Teesside as a leading digital university.

“This award reinforces our commitment to engage with new ways of learning and ensuring our students are equipped with the digital skills, knowledge and expertise to flourish and thrive in an ever-changing landscape.

“Our Future Facing Learning programme has placed the University firmly at the forefront of the digital revolution in higher education and we will continue to drive innovation and creativity through digital technology.”

The University’s Future Facing Learning initiative seeks to digitally empower students and staff by embracing cutting-edge digital technology, with students provided with digital tools to assist their learning through the Advance Scheme.

The Edufuturists University of the Year Award is the latest in a long line of accolades for Teesside University which showcase its commitment to digital teaching and learning.

Teesside was the first European higher education institution to be named as an Adobe Creative Campus, in recognition of its commitment to promoting digital literacy across all courses and areas of study.

It was also recognised as an Apple Distinguished School, highlighting the University’s success in creating an innovative learning environment.

The Digital Transformation Team in Student Learning & Academic Registry (SLAR) were recently awarded the Anthology Catalyst Award in the Training and Professional Development Category for providing innovative training and professional development opportunities in the use of digital technology.

Meanwhile Keavey Gamwell, a final year BA (Hons) Graphic Design with Marketing student in the University’s School of Arts & Creative Industries, has topped over 10,000 entrants to represent the UK and Ireland at an international Adobe competition next month after completing free online Adobe training.

Professor Simpson added: “The many awards and accreditations we have achieved are a fantastic endorsement of our work in the digital space.

“Students want to know that when they come to university, they will be equipped with the necessary skills, expertise and experience to succeed within their chosen industry. That is part of our commitment to students, and we will continue to use digital technology to provide the very best learning experience.”

Ben Whitaker, Edufuturists Director, said: “We are pleased to be able to host our fourth annual Edufuturists Awards on the theme of ‘Making It Happen’ and we are proud to be championing the great work of educators around the UK and beyond.

“Over 12,000 people have voted in the different categories and we could’ve given hundreds of awards – congratulations to all those who were nominated.

“Teesside University has been recognised for its relentless pursuit of cutting-edge practice. HE is a space where revolution is happening, and Teesside are indeed leading the way.”